#69: Dogfish Head Festina Peche

It’s been a long time since I’ve had time to do a blog post, but I earlier this week I got a bit of news that made me feel the need to, for lack of a better term, grow the eff up!
And If I want this to work, I have to make time write.
So here I am!

Unfortunately like most nights over the last little while, I have spent the last little while, I didn’t get out of work until late, very late. Which means that to be honest I just wasn’t really feeling anything that serious…
So, I guess it’s pretty lucky I had something light, summery and (fingers crossed) quite refreshing sitting in the fridge. The Dogfish Head Dogfish Head Festina PecheFestina Peche, a Berliner Weiss brewed with peach concentrate.
The Berliner Weiss style is a wheat beer that is brewed with an ale yeast, but lactic cultures are also used to give it a refreshing tartness; think like that of a green apple. Berliner Weiss is often served with  a little flavouring syrup to combat the tartness of the beer, but Dogfish Head, as they normally do, have taken this a step further by adding a little peach concentrate to the brewing process.

…there’s no time for jokes or anecdotes in this one, it’s all about work (…such a tough job) so straight onto the beer!
It pours a very clear golden straw colour, with about a finger of  light frothy head which disappears almost immediately. On the nose there are some fresh sour fruit aromas, like green apple, some sweet peach and a little, what I can only describe as ‘wheatiness’. The peach aromas are disappointingly fake, not offensively so like the cherry you get in the Moa Breakfast, but enoughed to give that disappointing “processed” smell.
In the mouth it’s light and tart, with a peachy undertone. For me a little lacking, but I can see this being quite refreshing on a hot summer day.

All in all, not the most exciting beer I’ve had in the last little while… Nice and refreshing, but I just find myself wanting… The sourness intrigues me though, in the same way it does with a good Lambic. I haven’t had a lot of Berliner Weiss in the past, but I think I might hunt down a few more…


3 responses to “#69: Dogfish Head Festina Peche

Leave a comment